No shame in my game


Being a mom means having very little free time to myself. So when I do have “me” time, I try to cherish it.

Truth be told, a lot of “me” time consists of me cleaning and doing other domestic shenanigans. Sometimes it consists of me cuddling with my puppy and watching my stories. Depends on the day and if I’ve had adequate coffee intake to be honest.

But the one time I do enjoy, is my drive to work. Remember the phrase “it’s not the destination, it’s the journey?” Well I’m here to confirm that guys…it’s true.

I don’t enjoy the going to work part. I’m not completely insane. What I do enjoy is the fifteen – twenty minute commute. No kids in the car, fighting over who’s turn it is to pick the radio station or begging me to listen to music on my phone. It’s just me, myself and I. And it’s fabulous. Unless it’s raining, then it’s stressful.

Every night when I head to work, I bring a cup of coffee with me for the road. I need that extra caffeine boost to get me through my shift. Sometimes I even treat myself to Dunkin donuts coffee, but I don’t always have time.

Anyway, so there I am. In the car, armed with caffeine and solitude. It’s an amazing feeling. What makes it better, is my phone.

A quick side note, I have an iPhone 6 and it’s attached to me at all times. I’m not proud of it, but it is what it is. I do pretty much everything from this phone (including write this blog) and if I didn’t have it I probably would lose my shit!

Ok back to the story!

So I’ve set the scene. I’m in the car, coffee in hand and I’m all by my lonesome. Then I plug my phone into the car and play MY music. Not the kids shit. Or the husbands shit. MY SHIT!

I have a fairly eclectic taste in music. I like everything from The Doors to Rage Against the Machine to Dr. Dre to Justin Timberlake.

Lately I’ve been listening to a lot of music from the 90’s on Pandora and it’s what dreams are made of. It’s fun and silly and it sometimes makes me do a mental forehead smack that I listened to any of this shit in my youth but at that moment…in my car all alone…I fucking love it!

I blast that shit and sing at the top of my lungs and I know people can see me, but I seriously give zero fucks. It’s so stress relieving and for those fifteen-twenty minutes that I’m driving, it makes me happy.

If you haven’t tried this, I highly recommend it. Put your favorite music on, crank up the volume and enjoy. Will others give you strange looks? Most likely. But they are just jealous. Trust me!

Leave a Reply

