April is Autism Awareness Month

imageTo kick off Autism Awareness Month and in honor of World Autism Awareness Day, here are some interesting statistics about autism in the United States:

* 1 in 68 children have autism spectrum disorder.
* Boys are about 5x more likely to be diagnosed than girls.
* Autism affects all races and ethnicities.
* Parents who have a child with autism have up to an 18% chance of having another with the disorder. (I can attest to this!)
* 1 in 6 children in the United States have some form of developmental disability, varying in severity.

If you’d like to learn more, you can visit the CDC website here.

On a personal note, I can tell you that autism is loud and it’s real. It’s affected my life in a way I never thought possible. It’s been the source of many tears, both happy and sad. It’s brought both victories and defeats to my children’s lives. I’m not sure why they have autism, but I’ve chosen to view it as an opportunity, rather than a deficit. An opportunity to spread awareness and do everything in my power to ensure that they continue to grow and thrive. Autism parenting is not for the weak and trust me when I tell you, I can’t always handle it. But I do my best and that’s all anyone can do.

Leave a Reply

