Ode to the middle child

imageMiddle child syndrome is real. In an article written by the Today show in 2006, it was explained: “Yes, the “Middle Child Syndrome” is very real. Middle kids bemoan their fate as being ignored and often grow resentful of all the parental attention given to the oldest and the baby of the family, and feel short-shifted.”

I see this with my own middle child. And it breaks my heart. I don’t want him to feel ignored or be resentful. But in this crazy thing we call life, it happens. I know that he doesn’t always get the attention he deserves or needs. And it’s not done on purpose, it just happens.

So with that, here is an open letter to my middle child:

My dear son, I know it seems like you don’t get the attention you deserve. And I hate that. It’s not intentional, that’s for sure. It’s hard to evenly distribute attention amongst three of you.

Your older brother gets more attention because he’s got a tendency to be an ass hat. Between his behavior and school issues, it’s a constant battle.

Your younger brother gets more attention because he has severe autism and has more needs. Being non verbal and still wearing diapers, he just requires more care.

And then there is you. My sweet boy who loves everyone and has an extraordinary imagination. Your creativity knows no bounds. You’re helpful, kind hearted and have a great sense of humor.

I know there are times that it seems unfair. I can see it on your face. And it breaks my heart because I hate the idea of you feeling left out or unimportant. Because you are important. More than you know.

I will make more of an effort to give you the attention that you deserve. I don’t want to hear you say “being the middle child sucks” anymore. I want you to embrace being the middle child. If nothing else, it will be excellent fodder for the book you write someday 😉

I love you son. Never forget that!

Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

