The OJ Trial – 21 years later

imageThe OJ Simpson trial was a major news story in this country from June 12, 1994, when the brutal murders of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ronald Goldman occurred, to October 3, 1995 when OJ was found not guilty at trial. During this time, we saw the infamous white bronco chase, the rise and fall of Mark Fuhrman, the racist detective who perjured himself on the stand and created reasonable doubt…it’s often thought of the gateway of reality television.

I was in seventh grade during the OJ trial. Living in Southern California, it was all anyone talked about. I remember watching the trial each day in my history class. Our teacher had us weigh in on our thoughts of the trial. At thirteen, I really didn’t grasp the seriousness of this trial or understand all of the factors involved like I thought I did. It was one of the first major crimes that I remember happening. The first would be the Oklahoma City bombing in 1995, followed by OJ and then of course, the terror attacks on 9/11.

Recently, FX aired a series about the OJ trial, based on a book written by Jeffery Toobin. I decided to tune in because I was curious and I was very impressed with the show. I felt it was an accurate depiction of events and it was very eye opening. It was interesting to see the trial from a different perspective, now that I’m an adult. There were a lot of things that “went over my head” the first time around, due to the basic naivety of being thirteen and not knowing any better.

For one thing, I didn’t realize what a big role racism played in the trial. Again, I was an oblivious kid. But watching it now in 2016, when racism is still sadly such a hot button issue, it was really the main argument of the defense team.

Dubbed the “dream team”, these lawyers were shameless. But, they did their jobs in creating reasonable doubt for the jury which ultimately resulted in OJ’s acquittal. And let’s not forget the catchy “if it doesn’t fit, you must acquit” rhyme, made famous by the late Johnny Cochran.

I believe the Mark Fuhrman tapes are what really ruined the prosecutions case against OJ. The fact that he lied on the stand and then these tapes surfaced of his contempt for the black community, and his admission that he planted evidence on suspects…it basically delivered the acquittal.

Personally, I believe OJ did it. DNA evidence does not lie. It’s one of the most unique things about you. But between the holes in our judicial system, the “dream team” and the general celebrity surrounding this whole trial, he was found not guilty.

And I think it’s no coincidence that OJ ended up serving a 33 year prison sentence for unrelated charges. That my friends, is karma.

On another note, whoever did the casting for this show did a flawless job. The actors selected to play the roles of all involved were really as close to the original people as you could get. Especially Sara Paulson (Marcia Clark) and Sterling Brown (Christopher Darden). The resemblance was creepy!

Any thoughts? I’d love to hear them!

2 thoughts on “The OJ Trial – 21 years later

  1. Interesting how your perspective changes when you have more years of “life experience” under your belt. When I was thirteen, living near south central Los Angeles, I was “up close and personal” to the Watts riots, in August of 1965. It went on for 6 days and I can remember the sounds of gunshots and explosions raging through the night. Indeed the racism that exists in this country is a sad commentary on our collective zeitgeist. Racism in any form is an abomination.

    Like

Leave a Reply

