No school again?

imageWell the kids have yet another day off from school. I feel like they have had more days off this year than ever before. They just went back from a ten day spring break on March 29th and boom, home again. It’s not that I don’t like them being home, it’s just that…

No. I’m not going to lie. I don’t like it when they are home.

Now you might think that makes me a terrible mother, and in some instances I might think that too. But a day off from school means many things. It means they still get up early, even though they don’t have to. Oldest and Middle IMMEDIATELY start fighting over God knows what. There are requests for food every twenty minutes or so. Followed by more fighting, occasional back talking and also complaining of being bored.

I do love my kids. Very much. But I don’t always like them. I used to feel guilty about that, but it’s the truth. After being a parent for eleven years, I’ve got one nerve left and they like to play tug of war with it.

I’m not going to say my kids are spoiled, but they are definitely spoiled adjacent. They have phones, tablets, video games, Lego’s, toys, skateboards…I honestly don’t know how they could ever possibly get bored. But they do, rather quickly. So I started something where if they complain about being bored, I make them clean something. It works pretty well. They may still be bored, but now I don’t have to hear about it.

These sporadic days off also remind me that summer is coming. Then, all three of them will be home for two months. Well, the littlest little attends ESY for a few weeks, but still…what do I do with them?

We usually take a week long vacay to see my mom and step dad, which is fun and something to look forward to. I could do without the eight hour car ride, but it is what it is. We also are lucky to live five minutes from the beach, so we do that quite often. But it’s exhausting. Having them be the states problem for six hours or so really is a stress reliever.

So today I will do my best to keep my eye from twitching before noon. And if all else fails, I get to go to work at night, so at least I’ll get a small reprieve.

 

4 thoughts on “No school again?

  1. Right there with you. LOL I’ll have to try that bored=cleaning thing. Except mine don’t say they’re bored, they just beg and bargain for computer time. Drives me crazy! Hang in there!

    Like

    1. Oh you’ve gotta try the cleaning thing! It works great! “Mom I’m bored!” Oh really? Why don’t you grab a rag and dust the living room? Yeah…they learn their lesson lol or you can make them clean in exchange for computer time. Either way, shit gets done 👍🏻

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

