Grocery shopping can suck it

imageGrocery shopping sucks. But it’s a necessity and just another responsibility that falls on my shoulders. There are four basic situations that I cycle through when shopping:

1. Anger: I hate people in the store. Mainly, oblivious people. The ones who walk around with their heads up their asses, carts in the middle of the aisle so you can’t walk by, or let their children run amok in the store while they talk on their cell phones. Yeah. That makes me angry.
2. Stress: This one especially applies if I have the kids with me. I prefer to shop solo, but that’s not always possible. Extra people along for the ride means fighting, begging for me to buy food they ultimately end up not eating and also results in my spending more money.
3. Money: which brings me to the next problem. Holy shit groceries are expensive! Even running to the store for “a few things” ends up costing you $50. For a family of 5 plus a puppy, I end up spending more money than I care to admit. And yes, I use coupons. I’m not a crazy couponer, but I use them every time.
4. Aftermath: Ok, so you go to the store and endure the annoying people, stress and the purging of your bank account. Then…you get to drive home, bring it all in the house and put it all away. This, like laundry, is almost the most annoying part. My kids like to use this as an opportunity for an impromptu game of show and tell. I’ll hear things like “sweet mom bought Oreos!” And “eww she bought pork chops. I’m not eating those!”

Sigh.

And then, you get to do it all over again next week!

P.S. I’m aware that this blog post is the very definition of first world problems. I am very fortunate to be able to go to the store and buy groceries at all.

P.S.S. But since I’m an inhabitant of the first world, I’m going to bitch about it anyway!

2 thoughts on “Grocery shopping can suck it

  1. Went to the store yesterday to “pick up some things for my daughter’s sleepover.” $100 dollars later, they didn’t eat MOST of the junk I bought (and I mean junk), which means my grocery budget for our REAL food has just gone down. Wish me luck. I’m off to the store today. Now I have to work magic! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

