Three Little Words

image“I wuv you”

Three little words. Three little words that I longed to hear from my mostly non verbal child and two weeks ago…I heard them.

It was music to my ears. I’ve been wanting him to talk for so long and at times have felt like it was never going to happen. But over the past couple of weeks my boy has started to come out of his shell and is saying actual words! It’s amazing!

Words are powerful. Not everyone realizes that. Oldest gets frustrated sometimes because the littlest little is very loud. He squeals, screams and cries a lot. I asked him to imagine not being able to speak. To be aware of what’s going on around you and not be able to say a word. If you want or need something, you have to find another way to get it because you can’t just ask. How would you feel? What would you do?

He was like this too, but doesn’t remember. Having empathy is one of the things he struggles with. I did manage to get a “that would suck” out of him, so I guess he did understand on some level.

We take so many things for granted in life. The ability to walk, hear, talk…not everyone has that. Imagine that you couldn’t do one of these things. Think of the impact it would have on your life.

I look at my son and he is beautiful. I look into his eyes and even though I know he’s looking through me and not at me, I see a boy full of life and love. He has an infectious laugh and gives the best hugs. He has a bad temper and is NOT a morning person, something I know he inherited from me. He loves music and is growing to adore his big brothers. It is a wonderful sight to see.

When each of my beautiful boys was born, I had no idea that autism would touch their lives. That it would inhibit them, cause them sadness or frustration, like a blanket of dysfunction. But through it all, they have persevered and have become amazing tiny humans.

Autism is loud and it’s real. It effects your life in a way that is hard to explain, and different for everyone touched by it. But as I tell my boys, it doesn’t define you. It’s just a part of what makes you wonderful.

4 thoughts on “Three Little Words

  1. I Love Max….I love all the boys, Jack and Noah too. Each one is unique. They present clearly different personalities that are both frustrating and wonderful. Most of all I love their Mom. She has become an incredible woman whom I am very proud of….my Daughter. And oh yeah tell Max Grandpa loves him too

    Like

Leave a Reply

