I’m the glue…

imageIt’s amazing how things fall apart in my house when I’m not here. To say I’m the glue would be an understatement.

I’m more like krazy glue.

It’s rare I do things for myself. Typically if I’m not here, I’m at work or the grocery store or some other equally exciting place. I don’t really know what happens when I walk out the door but all I know is that when I return, it’s utter chaos.

Nothing gets done. Like literally nothing. Messes get made and are not cleaned. Showers don’t happen. Chores aren’t done. Trash is overflowing. Dog hasn’t been taken out. Crumbs, trash, bullshit…as far as the eye can see.

Now let me preface this by saying I am in no way Suzy Homemaker. I have my lazy days where I don’t get much done. But my laziness doesn’t hold a candle to anyone else’s in this house. And it gets rather frustrating after awhile. And definitely contributes to my breakdowns.

I work hard for my family. I have a job and all of the responsibility of caring for the kids and the household. And I think I do a pretty damn good job of it. But it’s like when I leave for work everything just goes to shit. I’m only gone maybe four hours. And in that time it’s like everyone says “fuck it” and just doesn’t care.

I view it as disrespect by my husband and my kids. Mostly my husband, because he is (technically) the adult and should be enforcing things just like I do. Oldest and Middle are old enough to follow the rules and responsibilities set for them without being nagged all the time. But it just doesn’t happen. And I shouldn’t have to quit my job so my house can stay clean. That’s just ridiculous.

I have brought this topic up with both my husband and the kids several times. I have spoken in a nice voice. I have spoken in a mean voice. I have yelled, cried, begged, pleaded and threatened. Typically I’m met with apologies and promises to do better but alas, it never happens.

So today is my day off. And by some wretched twist of fate, my kids have the day off from school. And they whole day is going to be spent cleaning. And I’ve let them know that they will be helping me. This was strongly boycotted of course. I got a lot of “that’s not fair” and “we don’t want to” and I simply said that I don’t give a shit. I didn’t destroy this house and I’ll be damned if I’m going to clean it all up by myself.

So that’s my plan for today. Do I know how to have a day off or what?

Leave a Reply

