I keeps it real

image.jpegPolitical correctness is something that everyone has an opinion on these days. Some support it, some don’t. Some think it’s used to much, some too little. One things for sure…

We are all butt hurt about something. #seewhatIdidthere

According to my friend, wikipedia, the definition of political correctness is a term which, in modern usage, is used to describe language, policies, or measures which are intended not to offend or disadvantage any particular group of people in society. #thanksinterwebs

In my personal opinion, everyone needs to calm the fuck down. It needs to be understood that no two people are the same. Just because someone has a different lifestyle than you or political affiliation or sexual orientation does not make them bad or wrong. It just makes them different from you. And believe it or not, that’s ok.

First of all, it would be no fun if we were all the same. Your individuality is what makes you unique and special. Notice how we have certain things in common with our friends, but not everything. We don’t want to be friends with identical copies of ourselves. You know that saying “opposites attract”? It’s true!

The hot button issue as of late is the transgender bathroom situation. Just writing that made me roll my eyes a little. In America, we have a bathroom situation. In other countries, they don’t have clean water or healthcare, but we have a bathroom situation. Marinate on that one for a sec. #firstworldproblemsatitsfinest

I will be honest, I don’t know much about the transgendered community. I do know that they didn’t magically appear in 2016. There have been transgendered people for hundreds of years. You probably have encountered one before and may not have even known it. The key word here is people. They are people. And just like you, me and everyone else in the world, sometimes…they have to use the bathroom. I know, I know…the audacity right?

There are people out there arguing that it’s unsafe for say a transgendered woman (previously a man) to use the women’s restroom. They are being classified as predators. It’s completely asinine. I’m sure there are transgendered people who are predators. Just as there are gay predators, straight predators, African American predators, white predators…I could go on, but I’m tired of writing predators.

It is my opinion, that if a person is transgendered, they should be allowed to use the restroom of the gender they identify with. I am a mother and I don’t think my kids are any more at risk using the bathroom with or without transgendered individuals inside it. Again, this is MY opinion and it is my right to have it. If you don’t agree with me, that is your choice. But that doesn’t make me wrong. #choices

Another example for you is Christmas. Oh Christmas. I can’t tell you how many “keep the Christ in Christmas” bumper stickers I see everyday. #biblebeltproblems

I am Jewish. Well more like Jew-ish. I am Jewish by heritage and I do celebrate Hanukkah and a few other Jewish holidays, but I also celebrate Christmas. It’s actually my favorite holiday. If you came to Momma’s house in December you’d see Christmas shit literally everywhere and my menorah somewhere in the mix. I do not get offended when people say Merry Christmas. But interestingly enough, I get put down for being Jewish. I get made fun of, told I shouldn’t celebrate Christmas. I hear all kinds of jokes about being Jewish. You know, being cheap, things about the holocaust…really classy stuff. I don’t get offended. I don’t cry. I am who I am and I do what I want. And if no one likes that, they can leave me alone. It’s that simple. I don’t have to demand things from people or accuse them of being shitty. Deep down they know they are shitty and let’s face it, karma is a bitch.

I feel like the world is a pretty fucked up place these days. And we have bigger things to worry about than where people pee. Or if they say Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays. Or if they like men or women. Let’s do something about poverty, war, hunger, child abuse…shit that actually matters.

Remember that all lives matter. Regardless of gender, age, sexual orientation, religion or race. We are all people. And we all deserve dignity, respect and love. We need to stop being so butt hurt over every little thing and just live life being the best people we can be. Imagine what a difference that could make!

*drops mic
*climbs off soap box

2 thoughts on “I keeps it real

Leave a Reply

