The “mom” look

imageBefore I had kids, I was always put together. Hair done, makeup on, nails done. I worked and had the time and money to look good.

Then, kids happened. Somewhere between the first and third kid I just stopped giving a shit. I shouldn’t say that. It’s not that I don’t want to look good, it’s just that now I don’t always have the time or money to invest in myself. Some days it’s a win when I get to shower.

It’s a little easier now that the kids are older and in school. But why am I going to fix my hair and put make up on to stay home all day and clean? I don’t think the puppy gives any fucks what I look like, as long as I’m available to give her belly rubs and treats.

The other day I decided to do it. I put makeup on and did my hair, even though I had nowhere to be. I decided I was going to look like a girl. My husband said he liked my eye shadow but vetoed my lipstick. And when the boys got home from school they asked me if I was going to work.

I pretty much only wear makeup to work and sometimes not even then. It all depends on if I had time. I wear my hair up pretty much at all times, so when I wear it down people don’t know what to think. I get a lot of “did you do something with your hair?” To which I reply, “yeah. I washed it.”

I realized recently that I need to step it up a bit. It was a Sunday morning and I woke up and got dressed immediately. Usually I will lounge around in my jammies for as long as possible. But this particular day, I had shit to do. I put on a pair of jeans, a tank top and a light cardigan over it as it was a little chilly and also it hides the fat. 😉

I came downstairs and my kids asked me why I was all dressed up. Cause apparently, my old navy jeans and my target tank top are dressy.

I don’t think I’ll ever be the type of girl who wears skirts and dresses. I never really have been. But when my kids think I’m dressed up in my ratty clothes, perhaps I need to rethink my wardrobe choices.

I hardly ever buy things for myself. Aside from work clothes I haven’t really bought much for myself in the last few years. I will wear things until they are ripped and torn. I’m really the poster child for low maintenance living.

2 thoughts on “The “mom” look

  1. Right there with you. Yoga pants and t-shirts are my best friend. And, yes, the kids always get the new clothes first. I don’t really NEED anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

