Hot cars and babies don’t mix

imageWith summer just around the corner, I thought I’d bring up a topic that’s already been an issue this year.

Please. DO NOT leave your babies in hot cars.

I read an article yesterday about a woman who showed up at her child’s day care to pick up her baby and learned the child had never been dropped off. She ran out to her vehicle to find her child dead in the back seat.

First of all, I don’t understand how this happens. I have three kids and I have moments where I’m so stressed and absentminded that I’ve done some zany shit. Like the time I put the remote in my purse instead of my cell phone. Or the time I put the milk in the pantry and the cereal in the fridge. #momproblems

But here is what I don’t get. If you have a baby under the age of 3, you have to physically put them in the car and buckle them in. And if you have older kids guess what? They are NEVER quiet. So I don’t understand how a person can just not remember that they have their child in the car.

This video below discusses the danger and ways to avoid leaving your child in the car. There is even an app now that will remind you.

Let that sink in.

We live in a technology dependent world where we are so wrapped up in ourselves that we need an app to remind us not to leave our babies in the car? #ridiculous

The woman in the video also suggests that you put your purse, briefcase or cell phone in the back seat next to the baby, since those things are important and will make you remember.

Yeah those things are important. Not the child you brought into the world. #facepalm

Here is Momma’s suggestion. Don’t EVER leave your child in the car. Like ever. It’s not just the heat that’s a safety hazard. They could be abducted or injured in another way. There is also a big difference between leaving your child in the car to run in and pay for gas at the gas station and leaving your child in the car to go shopping at Target. A good rule of thumb is just to not do it.

I can’t imagine how terrified these poor babies must be. It’s a tragedy that can so easily be avoided. And if you are so absent minded that you can’t be responsible, perhaps you shouldn’t be driving in the first place.

For more information on kids and car safety, click here.

Leave a Reply

