Mourning

imageDeath is something we all know will happen, but that doesn’t make it any easier. In some situations, death is a blessing. I say that, because the person may be in such excruciating pain, that death finally brings them peace. In some situations it’s expected and in others it’s just plain shocking.

The one common denominator here is that death just sucks.

Yesterday, my family lost someone. It was not expected and a terrible shock. An example of being in the wrong place at the wrong time, and just a horrible accident. I’m still in shock over it.

My husband’s uncle was hit by a car on Saturday evening. It was an accident, but one that proved to be catastrophic. He was fifty six years old and reasonably healthy, but with all of the critical injuries he sustained, he just didn’t make it.

He leaves behind his wife and two adult children, who are heartbroken. And my heart breaks for them. They lost a husband, a father, too soon. I’m glad that the three of them had the opportunity to say goodbye though.

How do you get through something like this?

Death is not a stranger to me. I have dealt with it before. But never like this. The loved ones I’ve lost have been sick so even though it was devastating, it wasn’t as shocking as this.

We also had to tell the kids. Which is tough. They were sad and confused like the rest of us. But it brings forth questions, naturally. I don’t lie to my kids. I may leave out things that I don’t think they need to or are ready to know, but for the most part I am honest with them. The general emotion we all feel is just sad. It is just so sad.

To be honest, I didn’t know him all that well. We spent a majority of our marriage living across the country and not interacting much with my husband’s family. But once we got here, they all welcomed us with open arms. He was sweet, funny and had an intoxicating laugh. He was so sweet with my children and so sensitive to their disability.

So now we mourn. We offer love and support to his wife and children and help them any way we can through the grieving process. I can’t imagine how they are feeling. As I said, my heart just breaks for them. These situations remind you that life is short. There are no guarantees and no way of knowing when your time will come. All we can do is live life to the fullest and never miss an opportunity to tell the ones we love how much they mean to us.

Rest in peace Uncle Steve. You will be greatly missed.

2 thoughts on “Mourning

Leave a Reply

