‘Murica

image

Nothing starts an argument in my house quite like politics. With it being an election year, it’s certainly sparked a lot of interesting debates. It’s hard being a democrat when my husband is a republican. While we do agree on many things, there are also many we don’t see eye to eye on.

I blame moving to the south as part of the problem. Living in a “red” state I feel has made my husband a bit more republican than he was when we first married. Either that or it just stands out to me more.

Let me preface this by saying I’m not a super political person. I don’t pay as much attention as I should, but frankly my life keeps me pretty busy. I should pay more attention than I do, but it is what it is. I’m a registered democrat, but I’m not fanatical. My political beliefs are fairly close to my religious beliefs. I believe that everyone needs to calm the fuck down. That’s just a blanket statement that I feel applies to everyone.

I’m fairly liberal in my beliefs. I believe that everyone has the right to get married, use the bathroom or fight in our military, regardless of their gender or sexual orientation. I believe that there should be more stringent gun laws and that our veterans deserve more than they get. I believe that the disabled deserve better treatment and that so called “non profit” organizations should be looked at more closely. I believe in a woman’s right to choose what’s best for her. The government has no place in our uterus.

The most recent argument my husband and I had was over Target and their bathroom policy. While he has no issue with the transgendered, he does believe that predators will use this to their advantage to weasel their way into bathrooms and dressing rooms. While that is a valid point, my argument is that predators are going to do that anyway. That’s what makes them predators. He says that Target making a public statement about their tolerance basically gives those predators a green light to be where the shouldn’t be. Again…these predators have been doing that before Target made their public statement and additionally, I don’t often hear of Target being a hotbed of predatory misconduct.

I came across a blog post written by a woman who is probably the complete opposite of me in every way. She is uber Christian, a pastors wife and very conservative in her views of life. However, she supports Target’s position. Who would’ve thought?! You can check out that blog post here.

She makes a valid point in her post. She mentions that this has always been Target’s policy, they just now have become more vocal about it. They could’ve said nothing and no one would be boycotting it. But everyone needs to be mad about something these days.

As I mentioned in a previous post, everyone needs to chill. We have all been using that bathroom with transgendered people for years and probably not known it. Everyone has a right to do what makes them happy. And everyone has to go potty. So just chill. It’s all going to be ok.

And as far as the predators are concerned, we all need to be more vigilant. Watch your kids when you’re out in public. Go to the bathroom with them when you can or make use of places that provide family restrooms. Don’t let them go into dressing rooms alone. And if you see someone who is suspicious, report them immediately.

Leave a Reply

