To my nephew ❤️

imageMy nephew was born when I was fifteen. It seemed to take FOREVER for him to be born. I remember waiting impatiently for his arrival and when he was finally here, I was so excited. He was so tiny and pink and cute! August 20, 1998…literally seems like yesterday.

But no, that was eighteen years ago. I can’t even wrap my head around that. How did the time go by so fast?

imageMy nephew and I were always close. Especially the first few years of his life. I know he doesn’t remember that all that much because he was a baby part of that time, but man I was in love with that kid. I loved spending time with him and watching him grow. I moved to a different city when he was four, which was tough because I couldn’t see him whenever I wanted. But I still enjoyed spending time with him whenever I could.

imageAnd then, in 2011, we moved to a different state. And that was hard, because I’ve only seen him twice since then. The little boy who watched Toy Story incessantly and called me Auntie Cole and had an adorable giggle has grown up into a man. And tomorrow, he’s graduating from high school. Graduating. High school. I can’t believe it!

imageJakob, I’m so incredibly proud of the young man you’ve become. You’re smart, handsome and an excellent baseball player. You’re kind, funny, artistic and even though you’re not little anymore, you still call me Auntie Cole, just like you promised you always would. I’m so excited for what the future holds for you and I can’t wait to see what exciting things you accomplish next.

I’m sorry that I can’t be there to witness your special day, but know that I will be with you in spirit.

I’m proud of you, I love you and congratulations!

Love always,
Auntie Cole

Leave a Reply

