Homesick

imageEven though it’s been years since I moved from California, I still get homesick.
It’s not as bad as it was when I first moved away, but it still hits me from time to time.

I lived in California for the first twenty eight years of my life. I grew up there. Got married there. Gave birth to my children there. Regardless of where I live now, it will always be my home.

I miss random things about it. Some sentimental, some silly. I miss my family and my friends. I miss the familiarity of being in the cities I called home. I miss the weather and the beach. We have the beach here in Florida, but it just isn’t the same. I miss Inn’n out burger omg that place is amazing. And I have yet to find a place here that has good Mexican food that compares to back home. I miss the neighborhood we used to go look at Christmas lights every year and the sweet family that used to make hot chocolate for the kids. I miss going to Kennedy park to watch the fireworks with my kids and I miss being an hour-ish away from my best friend. I miss going to Ducks games with her and hitting up the Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego. I miss spending time with my nephew and going to Hilton Head park with my kids. Mostly, I miss the life I had. It was pretty spectacular.

We’ve been in Florida for five years this July and it has grown on me. I could do without the sweltering, sweaty summer but that’s just part of living on this side of the country. We’ve made a life here and it’s a good life. My kids are happy and we have friends and jobs and it’s good. We are good. But sometimes, I wish it was all a dream. And I would wake up and we’d be living in California still, like nothing ever happened.

California has its negative points too. It’s incredibly expensive and there are earthquakes. Although to tell the truth, I kind of miss them. I know that’s crazy but when you’ve grown up with the ground shaking your whole life, it’s a little weird when it doesn’t happen anymore. It’s very crowded and the traffic is horrendous. But call me crazy, I still miss it. And I probably always will.

I would love to move back someday, but at this point, I don’t know if it’s in the cards. So I will accept the fact the Florida is my home, put on some bug spray and sunscreen and hope I don’t melt or sweat to much. And I’d also like to give a shout out to air conditioning, you’re the real mvp.

One thought on “Homesick

  1. Ohhh…the Mexican food!!!! We’ve found ONE little hole-in-the-wall where we are now that has carne asada tacos (going there this weekend). We also had a neighborhood filled with Christmas lights. Our friends took us to a place here the first Christmas we got here (that you had to pay $20 a car!) and it was pathetic compared to Sleepy Hollow in Torrance. I have to say, I don’t miss the crowds and the traffic. I love that our Target isn’t completely packed…EVER! And the mall at Christmas time is like the mall at any other time. But I do miss a Barnes & Noble of every corner. Still, I don’t see us moving back to California…ever. We really like where we are now so much better. Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

