Summertime blues

imageBeing a parent has left me with exactly one nerve and my children like to jump rope with it.

Today is the first official day of summer vacation. We had a rough weekend, as one of the kids brought home a lovely stomach bug that has been making its way through all five of us. There has been a lot of puking and my house looks like a bomb went off in it. It’s definitely rocking the “frat house” look.

Summer is hard. They want to go and do constantly. What they don’t realize is that I don’t always have time/money/energy to go and do. Sometimes we have to stay home and do. But they don’t really get that, so it becomes a bitch fest. Bless the teachers that take them off my hands several hours a day. You’re truly unsung heroes.

I’m trying to find a balance between doing fun things and getting things done. It’s a hard line to tread successfully. But I’m going to try, because that’s all I can do.

I’m now fully caffeinated so I’m going to start some laundry, bust out my cleaning supplies, turn on my 90’s pandora station and get to work. Hopefully the boys will jump in and help me knock it out without bitching and fighting.

Seeing how I can hear them fighting in the other room, my spidey senses tell me that is going to be highly unlikely.

Sigh. Calgon take me away. #please

Leave a Reply

