On this day…

imageOn this day, eleven years ago, I became a mommy for the first time.

I found out I was pregnant with Oldest in October 2004. I was twenty one and had mixed emotions. I had been married for over two years at this point and I was excited, but also scared. I had no idea what I was getting myself into or what to expect.

I had a fairly easy pregnancy but everything freaked me out. When I was about six months along, he got the hiccups in utero, something I didn’t know was possible, and I had a panic attack. Looking back, it’s comical but at the time, I was terrified.

I was due on June 14, 2005. That day came and went with no baby. It was at that point I realized that due dates are merely a suggestion.

On June 16, 2005, I went to the doctor for a non stress test. For those of you that don’t know what that is, they put you in a recliner and strap a sensor on your belly to monitor the baby’s movement and if you’re having any contractions. I sat there for awhile when a nurse came in and rushed me to an exam room. It all happened so fast. Ultrasound, leaking amniotic fluid, contractions…I didn’t even know I was having contractions at the time. The doctor sent me to the hospital to be induced.

This is the part where I got majorly schooled. See the doctor says “you’re having contractions and leaking amniotic fluid so we are going to induce you” and at this point, I feel like a bit of a bad ass. I’m thinking “wow I’m having contractions and didn’t even know it. This isn’t going to be as hard as I thought.”

Boy was I wrong.

I got checked in to the hospital and about forty minutes later the induction process began. About ten minutes after that I was in the worst pain I’d ever felt in my life. They wouldn’t give me anything for the pain, because they didn’t want to take a chance of masking any developments that might take place. So I was contracting all over the place and hating every minute of it. The medication they gave me for induction also had the pleasant side effect of making me have to pee. So I was in excruciating pain and had to get up every ten to fifteen minutes to pee. But not just me, I had to bring the IV pole with me.

After hours of this, the doctor comes in to see how I’m progressing. I’m thinking I’ve gotta be at least halfway there but that was a big fat no. My water hadn’t broken. I hadn’t dilated at all. It was pretty discouraging.

I’m going to fast forward through the rest because it’s just full of more contractions, more pain and lots of colorful language coming out of my mouth.

After all of these crazy events, thirty four hours worth to be precise, my boy was born via cesarean section on June 17, 2005 at 11:08pm weighing 9lbs 6oz and he was beautiful.

I remember this day vividly. I remember the sounds, the sights, the smells, the pain. I remember holding my son for the first time. I remember staring at him in awe, never realizing how much I could love someone I’d just met. As cheeseball as it sounds, it does seem like yesterday.

Watching my boy grow and develop has been a crazy, beautiful ride. He’s had some hurdles to overcome in his life, but has done so with a strength that I am so proud of. It’s hard to believe that it’s been eleven years since I brought him into the world. It’s true what they say, it goes by so fast.

He’s grown into an awesome kid. He’s smart, funny, athletic and creative. He’s also a bit of a smart ass and can be sassy sometimes. But hey, no one is perfect. 😉 I wouldn’t have him any other way.

So to my son, on your eleventh birthday, I want you to know that I am so proud of you and all you have accomplished. I love you to the moon and I’m so lucky that I get to be your Mom.

Happy Birthday ❤️

Leave a Reply

