Life lessons from Ferris Bueller

image

This is a sad, but true statement. Yes it came from a movie character, but try not to focus on that part.

Life does move fast. So fast. And we are so busy working and parenting and just doing life that we forget to stop and smell the roses and appreciate the little things.

I’m sitting on my porch as part of my daily routine. We are having a light thunderstorm this morning, more thunder than rain. It’s actually quite peaceful. I brought the puppy out here with me and I was watching her, which lead to this epiphany. She’s looking around, taking in the sights, smells and sounds. Every noise and sight grabs her attention. The birds, the squirrels, the raindrops. I don’t pay attention to that shit. And if I do, I usually find it irritating. But she is fascinated.

Not much fascinates me anymore. But maybe that’s because I don’t let it happen. I’m always focused on my responsibilities. I wake up each day with a metaphorical checklist in mind. And all day long I mentally check things off of it. Kids, housework, job, meals, errands. Lather, rinse, repeat.

July is going to be here at the end of the week, which I still can’t wrap my head around. 2016 is more than half over. Wtf?

But I’m going to try to be different. With a new month comes a new way of life. I’m going to try to enjoy the little things more. I’m going to try to not focus on the daily bullshit of life, and more on making memories with my kids. I’m going to tell stress to go to hell and just try to enjoy life.

It’s not going to be easy, cause I really am an uptight ball of nerves a lot of the time. But I’m going to try. And who knows, maybe it will stick 🙂

Leave a Reply

