Birthdays shmirthdays

imageWhen you’re a kid, birthdays are awesome. There are parties and presents and cake and just nonstop fun all day. But birthdays take on a new role as you get older and stumble your way into adulthood. Really any birthday past twenty one is just a reminder that you’re getting old and celebrating it is a “take it or leave it” situation.

But when a kid hears that it’s an adults birthday, they expect said adult to have kid like enthusiasm and if they don’t, it boggles their mind.

Today is my husbands birthday. We have a nice, low key day planned for him. The littles made presents for him, I’m going to bake his favorite cake and we’ll have a nice dinner and that’s pretty much it. He got up and went to work, like any other day because well, adulting is hard. Middle was horrified that adults have to work on their birthday. “That should be illegal!” were is actual words.

And when you’re nine, that’s a valid argument. But when you’re thirty six, that’s just the breaks.

Birthdays are a big deal to kids and that’s totally cool. Your birthday is the one day that’s all about you and it’s fine to be excited about that. Middle is excited because in our house, his birthday is next. It’s not until September 18th, so we will hear a lot about it for the next two months. #yay

But when you’re an adult, it’s just another day. It’s a reminder that life is short and you’re another year older. I realized today that I met my husband when he was twenty one and I was eighteen. He is now thirty six and I’m thirty three. Those fifteen years just flew by! I mean sure we had a few kids and moved across the country in that time but STILL! I remember being that age like it was last week. But no, last week I was entertaining kids, cleaning the house and hanging on to my sanity for dear life.

Anyway, to my darling husband on his birthday, I just want to tell you that I love you. As much as you drive me nuts sometimes, you are a great father and husband and we are lucky to have you. I hope you have a great birthday and here’s to spending many more birthdays together! xoxoxoxo ❤️😘

Y’all didn’t know Momma could get mushy did ya? 😉

Leave a Reply

