Excuse me while I grab my soapbox – Social Media Edition

imageBrace yourselves lovelies, another soapbox post has arrived!

I’ve shared with you before how Buzzfeed is one of my favorite sites on the interwebs. I get an email from them weekly with a variety of headlines, articles, recipes etc.

Not going to lie, it’s sometimes the highlight of my week. #sorrynotsorry

Anyhow, I’m perusing the site and come across an article about how Victoria Beckham is facing criticism for posting a picture of herself kissing her daughter on the lips.

My first reaction, was a quite audible “what the fuck?!”

Let me start this off by saying, I’m not a big Victoria Beckham fan. I’ve got nothing against her, but I’ve never been a fan of the Spice Girls and her husband (and entire family for that matter) is beautiful and you know.. whatever, just not a fan.

That being said, what kind of sick mind sees a picture like this and sexualizes it? It’s a mother kissing her child. It’s beautiful. The bond and connection between a mother and child is something that only they will understand. I kiss my children on the lips all the time. There is absolutely 100% nothing sexual about it and anyone who thinks so, is the one with the problem.

We live in a society where we are massive over sharers. With social media being in existence, we share everything. From relationship problems to photos of our breakfast to our exact fucking location. Do you need to know that I was at the DMV yesterday? Not at all. Do you need to know my personal business or what my last meal looked like? Nope. But we are a culture who “let’s it all hang out”. All Victoria wanted to do was give her little girl a Happy Birthday shout out on Instagram and a bunch of disgusting people had to take it to a level it never needed to be at.

I do believe that we all need to calm down with the social media sharing. Imagine what the world was like before Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and all the others entered the picture. We didn’t “check in” online or take selfies. We lived our lives without everyone knowing our every move and detail and it was fine. We were all fine. I think we need to go back to that. Social media is great for sharing things, but people should be conscientious of what they are sharing. Once it’s on the interwebs, it’s there forever.

And lastly, Happy Birthday to Victoria Beckham’s daughter, Harper. I’m sorry a bunch of trolls on the internet tried to vilify your mom for posting a heartfelt tribute to you.

To read the full article on Buzzfeed, click here.

*drops mic
*climbs off soapbox

4 thoughts on “Excuse me while I grab my soapbox – Social Media Edition

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with you, make room on the soapbox box for one more! I don’t know why everything always has to be a scandalous when it comes to a celebrity in a child being in any kind of photograph. Kissing your child on the lips is not a sexual activity. The world is so used to expressions of love being sexual, it’s rare to see familial one. That really shouldn’t be because everybody is a part of the family….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

