Five years

imageThis week marks the five year anniversary of our family moving from California to Florida.

It’s hard to believe it’s been five years.

Five years ago, on this very day, I believe we were in Texas. Took us two days to drive across Texas…that state is effing huge!

The decision to move across the country was a big one for us. My husband was offered a better position and we decided to go for it. We packed up our minivan and drove across the country in the dead of summer with three kids who were six, four and eight months at the time. #weliveontheedge

For me it was scary, because I’d never lived anywhere else. But I think I’ve adapted pretty well. I’ve gotten used to the sweaty months and I enjoy that we have some semblance of winter. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to the torrential downpours or sweet tea…or as I like to call it, diabetes in a glass. But I’m used to it now.

I’ve written often about my great affection for California and how it will always be home to me. And that’s true, you can take the girl out of California but you can’t take the California out of the girl. But I’m used to Florida now. I’ve made wonderful friends and established a life here. A very sweaty, humid life.

That road trip across the country though was a big experience for us all. I’d never done anything like it before. We got caught in a dust storm in Arizona, Oldest was almost bit by a scorpion in New Mexico, we got lost in Texas, hit up a Chuck E Cheese in Louisiana and I encountered my first ever gas pump that wasn’t automatic in Mississippi. Oldest lost a tooth while en route and we got to introduce our littles to family that had only seen them in pictures. It really brought us closer together as a family and that is really awesome.

As awesome as the experience was, I can’t imagine doing it again. Sometimes just running errands around town with these kids is taxing. But, who knows what the future holds?

5 thoughts on “Five years

  1. In August it will be our 4th anniversary leaving LA. At least you’re still near a beach. We’re 3 hours away from the closest beach…and they CHARGE FOR ADMISSION! Is that crazy? We still haven’t been.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, right? And not per car…per person! One beach is $18 per person! I found a lake that’s $2.50/person. Not the same as the beach, but it’s the cheapest I’ve found.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s crazy! We have a beach here that we go to that costs $5 per car, but it’s private and parking is closer plus…cute lifeguards ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

