We’re all mad here

imageThe definition of madness is extremely foolish behavior. I feel like motherhood should fit in there somewhere for sure.

Being the mom of three active boys plus my eldest boy (husband) is the very definition of madness in my world. I clean, they destroy. I buy food, they inhale it all in a day. I wash their laundry, they throw it on the floor. I go to work, I return to what looks (and sometimes smells) like a frat house.

They aren’t ignorant creatures and their arms aren’t broken. They are fully capable of pitching in. But they don’t.

Why?

I’ve been told it’s my fault. Because I always take care of everything. So it’s just assumed that I will always take care of everything. But you know what assuming does right? It makes you an asshole. Or something like that…I don’t remember how the saying goes.

If nothing else, you think they would get off their lazy asses and help so they don’t have to listen to me bitch about it. But nope, that doesn’t help either.

I’ve accepted (mostly) the fact that my hubby is a lost cause. He doesn’t do nothing out of spite, he just is that oblivious. He has his moments where he pitches in and helps but they are few and far between.

But I refuse to accept this behavior from my kids. They will become helpful, clean young men if it’s the last thing I do!

As of yesterday, we are three weeks from school starting. *insert happy dance here* So I’m putting them back on their school schedule. Lights out at 10pm and waking up at 7am. This is our first day and they aren’t very happy about it but hey, such is life.

I’ve taken away all electronic devices and they will not get them back until they chip in around the house. #meanmommy

I’m trying to get them to appreciate that there is a lot that goes in to their welfare and happiness. Making sure they have what they need and making a nice, clean home for them to live in. It’s not a magic wand situation although I so wish it was sometimes.

I want them to take pride in our home and pride in themselves. I think it’s an important lesson that of course, starts at home. So the reign of dirt balls ends here. Grab a sponge, grab a broom and get to work!

2 thoughts on “We’re all mad here

  1. When I first started dating my husband, one of the first things she told me was that all of her boys (3 of them) could do their own laundry, clean the house, cook, and wash the dishes and not to let him tell me other wise. I’ve never let my husband forget what she said…especially the cooking part. I use that as often as I can! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

