The Sound of Music

image You know how you hear certain songs and it instantly can bring you back to a memory or a feeling? Isn’t that the best? Or I guess sometimes, not so much?

I was driving home from work the other night and I heard Dancing with Myself by Billy Idol on the radio. It’s an awesome song and I cranked up the volume and rocked out the whole way home.

It got me thinking about the strong connection music has to our lives. How hearing a song can bring forth happy memories or maybe even sad ones. How we can hear a song we haven’t heard in over a decade but still remember all the words. #sciencebitch

So I thought I’d compile a little list of songs I like to listen to for various reasons. I hope you like them and I’d love to hear you’re favorites!

1. Happy – Pharrell Williams
I love this song because my Littlest Little loves it. It’s one of the few songs he will dance and clap to and every time I hear it, it brings a smile to my face.

2. Riders on the Storm – The Doors
This song reminds me of my dad. I remember being about thirteen or fourteen and driving around with my dad and listening to The Doors. He shared with me the time he saw them in concert (jealous!!) and his love for their music as well. Those times meant a lot to me and pretty much every time I hear any Doors song, it makes me think of him.

3. Ender will save us all – Dashboard Confessional
I listen to this song when I’m mad at my husband. If you listen to the lyrics, you’ll get the gist. #emostatus

4. Sleep now in the fire – Rage Against The Machine
I don’t know why, but I love driving to this song. Probably the epic Tom Morello guitar. But cranked at high volume it’s awesome driving music.

5. Sweet avenue – Jets to Brazil
While we aren’t especially shmoopy people, this is mine and my husbands “song” ❤️

6. Sublime – pretty much any song
High school. Always brings back those fond (and not so fond) teenage memories.

7. Step by step – New Kids on the Block
This song reminds me of my best friend. And the time she belted this song out in the car when she may or may not have been intoxicated. 😂

8. Green Eyes – Coldplay
I used to sing this to my babies when they were newborns and rock them to sleep. They loved it and when I hear this song it instantly takes me back to those sweet newborn days. #newbabysmellisthebestsmell

9. Pennywise – Stand by me
This song reminds me of the time I went to a Pennywise concert about two months after having Middle. I had my first cocktail in close to a year and avoided the mosh pit like the plague for fear of sustaining injuries to my newly healed csection scar. I was only twenty three at the time but felt pretty old.

10. Alan Jackson – Summertime Blues
This song reminds me of my mom. I remember her cranking this album at full volume when I was a kid and it grew on me. I actually just heard this song last week for the first time in a long time and remembered all the words. See my point???

Music is such a powerful medium. It causes us to laugh, cry and feel. It causes us to dance and sing. It makes its mark on our memories and hearts. Not many things can do that!

So today, I urge you to listen to your favorite songs. Crank up the volume, dance and sing your heart out. Don’t care if anyone is watching. Just let the music feed your soul!

Leave a Reply

