Boobies

imageSo according to the interwebs, it’s World Breastfeeding Week. I’ve been a mom for eleven years, never heard of such a thing. But hey, God speed.

There have been numerous debates in years past about breastfeeding. Specifically, in public. There are people out there who are offended by it (๐Ÿ™„) and people out there who think they should be able to do it wherever they want. They are feeding a child, it’s not sexual, yada yada.

But let’s face it. There is probably a greater chance of winning the powerball than encountering someone who isn’t offended by something.

I fully support breastfeeding, I think it’s great and if you choose to do that with your baby, then go you! And no, I don’t think you should have to hide in the bathroom or a closet somewhere to do it. That being said, do you really need “the girls” hanging out for the world to see?

I’ve seen countless photos lately of women breastfeeding their babies. Does it offend me? Not in the least. But I also don’t see a reason for it.

I didn’t breastfeed my children. I tried, but I just couldn’t get my milk to come in. And for the record, there is no shame in formula feeding your child. Regardless of what society or nosy people tell you. As long as your child is happy, healthy and thriving…that’s all that matters. #endrant

Maybe since I didn’t breastfeed, that’s why I don’t understand. I don’t understand why people freak out seeing a woman, covered with a blanket, nursing her baby. And on the reverse side, I don’t understand why it’s such a big deal to cover yourself with said blanket, in order to nurse in public.

For me personally, I’m not a big fan of showing my boobies to anyone. And yes, I know that there is a difference between breastfeeding and flashing, but honestly if it were me, I’d cover myself up in public.

The argument has been made that society has no problem sexualizing women’s breasts, yet when a woman is breastfeeding it’s frowned upon. This is a huge double standard and understandably bullshit. But society has been sexualizing women since the dawn of time. Why else would Playboy exist?

But honestly, there is clearly a big difference and anyone that views breastfeeding as sexual has bigger problems because, well, ewww.

As per usual, people need to calm the fuck down about these types of things. If you see a woman, covered with a blanket, breastfeeding her baby…leave her alone. She’s not committing a felony, she’s feeding her baby lunch. And mommies, while its a beautiful and natural thing, your boobies don’t need to be out on display while you’re in a public place. But when you’re home, all bets are off. Let the girls be free!

Leave a Reply

