A minute of peace

imageThe other day I was watching an episode of The Simpsons with my kids and I actually found it relatable. It was odd, yet comforting, as I’ve watched this show since it started many years ago.

In this episode, Marge gets arrested and sentenced to ninety days in jail for letting Bart go to the park unsupervised.

On a side note, Bart should be pushing forty by now, but whatever.

She finds that she enjoys being in jail because she has time to herself. She gets plenty of rest and doesn’t have to deal with her annoying family and responsibilities. Her family of course, is falling apart without her around to handle everything.

I found this comical because I feel that way sometimes. I mean sure, jail isn’t full of the most savory characters, but you get three squares a day and sleep. That’s not too shabby!

I’ve often wished my husband and I could have a Freaky Friday swap and he could understand what it’s like to be me for a day. I think he’d have a whole new appreciation for the daily shenanigans that are my life.

While I have no plans to go to jail anytime soon, (knock on wood) I would love a break. A break from mommin’, housewifin’ and everything else would be amazeballs. Just one day where I didn’t have to worry about anything or take care of anyone. Where I could sleep and read and enjoy the peace.

I’m pretty sure this is every moms fantasy. That and a machine that actually folds the laundry. I mean it’s 2016, shouldn’t we be living like the Jetsons by now???

Leave a Reply

