License to ill

imageI’m sick.

I’m not sure if I have a cold, or if it’s an allergy flare up or what it is. But I’m sick. And that is probably my biggest pet peeve on earth.

I get sort of irrationally angry when I’m sick. I don’t have time for these shenanigans. I have a job, three kids and a wealth of responsibilities and Momma can’t afford to be sick.

My body, gives zero fucks though. #rude

First off I will say this. I rarely get sick. *knocks on wood* But when I do, I get sick. For like weeks. And it’s awful. I’m the type of person that starts popping medicine to get myself to at least a functional state. But this time no matter what I take, I’m not really getting any relief.

And you might be reading this and wondering why this crazy lady doesn’t go to the doctor. Well, I hate going to the doctor and most of the time you go in there and wait for what feels like forever and they tell you that you have a virus and to get plenty of rest and eat soup. Not really worth my time or the $35 copayment either.

I usually give myself a week. If after trying my over the counter medicine and home remedies I’m still not better, I’ll suck it up and go see a doctor. But I’m not happy about it. That’s another moment where the irrational anger kicks in.

I never had allergy problems until I moved to the great state of Florida. And man, it sucks. There is an oak tree in front of my house that is unavoidable and literally shits pollen everywhere. There is no escaping it!

Also when I’m sick, I instantly become a doctor. I will sit and try to make my symptoms mean something. I definitely don’t research it on the internet though. You type in “sinus pressure and nasal congestion” and get results like “may have sinusitis. Or perhaps you have a brain tumor.” Yeah, the internet escalates quickly.

Many people suggest using netty pots for relief but I just can’t. I used one for the first time when I was pregnant with Littlest and it made me throw up. That scarred me for life and now I just can’t bring myself to try it again.

I’m giving myself one more day and if I’m not better I’ll head to the doctor. But if they tell me I have a virus and to eat soup I can’t be held responsible for my actions.

Meanwhile if you need me I’ll be alternating between rest, mommin’ and random fits of anger. #cough #sniffle

Leave a Reply

