Excuse me while I grab my soapbox – Murder edition

imageMan, my soapbox has been getting a lot of use lately.

Before I get into this I want to say one thing. Being a parent is hard. We all get to our breaking point every now and again. We get frustrated and we get stressed out and that’s normal. I look at it as an occupational hazard.

But no amount of stress or frustration justifies beating an eight month old baby to death.

Yes, you read that correctly.

A beautiful eight month old baby girl in Georgia died on Saturday from injuries she sustained after a beating from her mother and mothers boyfriend.

According to the article I read, officials are waiting for the autopsy results before deciding how to proceed with charges.

Yes, you read that correctly too.

This is the part where I really flipped shit. The justice system in this country is so messed up that even though the mother and boyfriend admitted to beating the baby which resulted in her death, they can’t automatically charge them with murder. And I’m sorry, but that’s what they did. They beat that poor defenseless baby to her death. There shouldn’t even be a question as to whether to charge these horrible people with murder.

Babies can be a handful. They get fussy and sometimes it’s hard to console them. And trust me, it can get really frustrating. But you can walk away. Ask for help. With the safe haven law in the US you can literally take your baby and give them to a safe haven site, no questions asked. That baby would’ve been better off being dropped off at a Walmart than getting beaten by her own mother.

I hope that justice is swiftly served in this case. These monsters deserve to be punished to the fullest extent of the law.

And if you ever find yourself in a situation where you just can’t handle things, I urge you to ask for help. Call a family member or friend. Call the police. Take your child to a safe haven location. Don’t take drastic measures.

Rest in peace, Kamonie Love Whitehead.

For more information about the safe haven program, click here.

To read this news story, click here.

*drops mic
*climbs off soapbox

Leave a Reply

