Pinterest – Food as art?

I’m not ashamed to say that I love Pinterest. I can be on there for hours, pinning all sorts of projects that I most likely will never do. But it’s fun to dream, right?

That being said, some of these Pinterest folks take things a bit too far.

I came across a pin for creative food ideas for kids. As I have three picky eaters, I thought I’d take a look. I couldn’t believe what I saw.

All kinds of healthy foods in all kinds of designs. Giraffes. Minnie Mouse. Bunnies. All beautifully crafted. In addition to being impressed, I was also thinking one thing.

Who the hell has time for this nonsense?

As much as I wish my kids were less picky, I don’t have time to make masterpieces with fruits and vegetables. Furthermore I won’t make the time to do that because that’s ridiculous.

I give my kids food and they eat it or they don’t eat. That’s pretty much my credo. This isn’t a restaurant and I don’t give a shit that it’s not your “favorite”.

I used to make a different meal for each child because they were so picky. And all that did was teach them that they could have whatever they wanted which sadly, isn’t the way the world works. So now I make one meal and everyone eats it. They might like it, they might not, but food is necessary so eat it and shut up.

I honestly don’t think turning my kids food into an art piece would make them want to eat it any more. If you are a parent who does this, I’d love to know if it makes a difference. If nothing else I suppose it gives you something to add to your résumé. #lifeskills

Here are some of my favorite ridiculous food art found via Pinterest:

Leave a Reply

